Foreseeing your eye exam: 10 pointers on what to expect and fun tips

About 75% of people in the United States have some form of vision correction, yet ask them what stereopsis is and they may think it’s the sound system at an IMAX movie.

Stereopsis is actually depth perception testing, and it is among the many eye functions tested during a complete eye exam. For those who have never been to the eye doctor, it can sound like scary stuff. But it’s really about as scary as a kids’ movie – if you know a little about what to expect at the eye doctor’s office.

Following are the top 10 things to expect at your eye exam, along with fun tips to make the visit more enjoyable for you and your doctor.

Top 10 things to expect at your eye-exam:

1 “Vision Impact Institute Releases Study on Corrective Lens Wearers in the U.S.,” Essilor, https://essilorusa.com/content/essilor-usa/en/newsroom/news/vision_impact_instit.html
2 “What to Expect During a Comprehensive Eye Exam,” AllABoutVision.com, http://www.allaboutvision.com/eye-exam/expect.htm
3 Ibid.
4 “Stereoscopic Vision and Depth Perception Testing,” Ophthalmology Web, http://www.ophthalmologyweb.com/Pediatric-Ophthalmology/5649-Stereoscopic-Vision-and-Depth-Perception-Testing/
5 “Visual Field Testing,” AllAboutVision.com, http://www.allaboutvision.com/eye-exam/visual-field.htm
6 “Glaucoma, Macular Degeneration & Diabetic Eye Diseases,” LensCrafters, http://www.lenscrafters.com/lc-us/vision-guide/common-eye-diseases
7 Ibid.
8 “What is a Slit Lamp Exam?” Healthline, http://www.healthline.com/health/slit-lamp-exam#Overview1
9“Eye Exam – What you can expect,” Mayo Clinic, http://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/eye-exam/details/what-you-can-expect/rec-20189669
10 “What to Expect at Your Eye Doctor’s Exam,” LensCrafters, http://www.lenscrafters.com/lc-us/eyecare/optometrist